dancingwithmissb


Ten months as a trainee reporter
February 4, 2013, 9:10 pm
Filed under: Journalism

I can’t believe it has been more than a year since I finished my NCTJ and went straight into work experience at the Kentish Gazette, then three other papers before landing a job in Reading.

My first ten months on the Bracknell Forest Standard have been fast-paced, challenging and I have learnt loads – here are some stories I have written lately.

This story I found through my work Facebook account. I saw a post from a concerned mum and arranged to do a story about sex toys in Boots, which then got syndicated to the Mail Online. They used my article pretty much word for word and didn’t give me a byline, but I will take it as a compliment.

Another story found through Facebook – I have an account Becky Barnes Bracknell Standard so people know they can contact me, or who I am if I contact them.

Rescue dog reunited with owner – After the Dawn the raven escaped during a Metallica video shoot story arose from following up a simple tweet, I have always followed up tweets and this story was a follow up from a series of tweets about a missing dog.

This story is about hoax calls and includes a spotty bottom as a reason to call an ambulance.

Tributes to popular hot air balloon pilot who took his own life – after an inquest I did a bit of research and managed to get a tribute and pictures from friends, which always adds colour and humanity rather than just detailing the circumstances of someone’s death.

Tomorrow I am interviewing Paloma Faith for the Reading Post and this week I have written a lead for the Reading Post, which I have also sent to the Daily Mirror, as we are all the same company.

Will post it when it is up on Get Reading, and hopefully the Mirror Online!

Becky

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

