dancingwithmissb


Jools Holland: Made-up feature
October 4, 2011, 9:46 pm
Filed under: Journalism

In a previous post I mentioned our day with John Jenkins.  I am trying to do at least a post a day throughout October so I thought I would share a feature I wrote about Jools Holland.  Please note everything printed is imaginary and it was purely for the purpose of learning about writing features. Enjoy!

On the 35th anniversary of his first recording session back in 1976, musical virtuoso Jools Holland will play two nights at the Brighton Dome, this December.

“I can’t wait to be back in Brighton, the people are fantastic,” said Jools, who will be joined by some special guests including 80s new wave band ‘The The,’ who Jools recorded an album with in 1985.  There is one more act to be announced and the star hinted: “We’re hoping to play with an exciting new solo artist, who I’ve recently been recording with, watch this space Brighton.”

Jools has recently been recording with Paul Gbebaje, who made it to the final of Britain’s Got Talent 2011 with his extraordinary self-taught piano compositions and playing.  The final act will be announced in the first week of November.

Jools has played in Brighton 42 times and all of the five concerts at Brighton Dome have sold out within a month of tickets going on sale.  Brighton Dome manager Kevin Clark said, “We anticipate another sell-out, Jools always provides an absolute corker.”

Last time Jools was in Brighton was for the launch of ‘Finding The Keys – The Best Of’ album launch at Concorde in April.  He recalls: “There was this fantastic woman I met there, she lost her arm in an accident yet she said I inspired her to keep playing piano.”    June Kemp from Brighton is a familiar face in the town for her charity work and for her piano duet with Jools at April’s album launch.

Jools has released 28 albums and the 29th ‘Electric Piano Blues’ will be released in the second week of December, with 100 signed copies available a week early at the Brighton concerts on 3rd and 4th December.  This special Christmas album features a bonus track with vocals from Jamie XX.

‘Later with Jools Holland’ comes to the end of its 18th series in October but Jools revealed “I’ve been collaborating with several cutting-edge artists for a special Christmas show.”  Jazz star Toby Johnson who played for the Queen on her birthday and Florence Welch, of ‘Florence and The Machine’ are two guests on ‘Christmas with Jools Holland’ which will be aired on Christmas day.

Jools added that these collaborations had resulted in a potential album next year with some exciting stars to raise money for Cancer Research UK.

Jools said: “I lost my Uncle to an aggressive form of cancer in June, he was like a father to me.  I know so many people that have been affected by cancer, everyone knows somebody.  I want to give something back to Cancer Research.”

The musician is no stranger to charity fundraising notably performing with Eric Clapton in a 2005 Tsunami Relief gig which raised more than £600,000.

The November/December tour is a string of 28 dates in 16 towns across the UK.  Jools will be staying at the Queen’s Hotel in Brighton and said his favourite pub is the Fish Bowl in East Street.  “It’s great, they have a real fish bowl and it’s tiny – but cosy.”  Jools enjoys a gin and tonic (on the rocks) before a show but despite 35 years in the business can’t manage more than a piece of toast before going on stage.  “I have one piece with marmite and one piece with marmalade,” said Jools, “Call me a creature of habit but it’s a light take on dinner and dessert before I go on stage.”

Asked how he keeps his fingers in tip top shape, Jools recalled: “I broke my finger once, when I was 9.  My piano teacher was furious.”  Jools broke his finger in a game of hide and seek that got a bit out of hand.

“I definitely won’t be playing hide and seek in Brighton,” added the star.

Catch Jools at the Brighton Dome on 3rd-4th December 2011.  Tickets are £10-28.50.  Call: 0203456789 or visit http://www.brightondome.org.

NB This feature is imaginary, I made up all the quotes, facts and info!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

