dancingwithmissb


September Lust: Brighton gigs
September 9, 2011, 12:07 am
Filed under: Lusts

I’m really excited as I am officially moving to Brighton tomorrow* today. (In fact I should be in bed.)  However, those of you following my Twitter account will know that I have been scouring Brighton websites and getting all hyper, especially about upcoming gigs.

I thought I’d give you a quick post following my September Lust article that just focuses on gigs in Brighton that I am lusting after and that you should be at.  You can see listings for Brighton gigs here.

Firstly, I know I’ve gone about it BUT I missed Big Deal last night*.  To make myself feel better, I stuck on their album and wrote a short review for you:  ‘Lights Out’ is the refreshing debut from original boy/girl duo Big Deal. The effortlessly cool harmonies and laid-back guitar riffs, combined with the honest, catchy lyrics, make this album one that you’re gonna wanna listen to over and over (and you’ll find yourself humming along.) Favourite track: Talk. This pair are the real deal.

Tomorrow night (Friday* today) I’ll be down at one of my fave Brighton venues; The Green Door Store to see The Growlers.  The Growlers are renowned for their trend-setting style, and they give surf a modern edge.  Their music combines that familiarly cheerful surf sound rooted in the 60s with a moodier, unpredictable and experimental vibe.  I can’t wait for the gig!

Saturday night has lots on offer but my top pick has to be Deadbeat Descendant – they’re a local psychedelic band with a big following in Brighton and the venue; The Prince Albert is a fab setting for an energetic gig.  Expect upstairs to be packed!  They’re supported by Clowns who from their Myspace sound a bit like Pulp, which can’t be bad!

If you fancy something cheery to beat those blues of a Monday (12th Sept), check out The Watermelons at Komedia.  Make sure you get a GBK on your way in!  Did you know that you can choose to not have the bun and get an extra large dressed side salad?  It makes it a lot easier to fit in your mouth! (Especially if you’ve opted in on ALL the trimmings.)

I also like the synthy, New Order-esque sound of Cinemascope who are supported EMA at The Green Door on Tuesday 13th September.

On Thursday (14th) Jennifer Left is playing an afternoon gig.  I reviewed her in my Meadowlands blog here and she’s deff worth seeing.

Oooh and make sure you catch AK/DK next Friday (15th.)  Read my previous comments on their amazing live performance at Playgroup Festival here.

And just when I was writing off Festival season, there’s a Festie mid-September!!  Shakedown is £35 for the day and Ed Sheeran is playing.  Was loving him on the Live Lounge today and if you missed it, have no fear, you can catch up here!

Sorry, I’m getting a bit overexcited…

Towards the end of September, Audio are putting on some spanking double action with Cloud Control on 28th September and then Slow Club on 29th.  People following me on Twitter will already know that you can stream their new album before its release here.

Finally to round of the 30 days that September hath, the stupendous Bombay Bicycle Club shall be rocking the Brighton Dome.  I’d suggest you grab a ticket for that one FAST!

OK so there’s my ‘quick’ lustful post.

Enjoy. And maybe see you there. x

PS. Did I mention I’m on Twitter now?  Follow me here.

*Please excuse the strike-through, it’s after midnight.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

