dancingwithmissb


P J Harvey
September 7, 2011, 8:31 am
Filed under: Random | Tags: , , ,


So P J Harvey has become the first two-time winner of the Mercury Music Prize and as a newbie to Twitter, I was amazed at all the tweeting action that is sparked every second by such an event!  The thing that amused me the most was the fact that the user of the Twitter account @PjHarvey is a Senior software developer called Phil Harvey who describes himself as a ‘massive nerd’ and appeared to get a lot of unwanted attention last night, as he received Congratulations…and eventual twisticuffs, as people decided there could not possibly be more than one P J Harvey at this moment in time.

As Jools Holland announced the winner on the telly, this P J Harvey tweeted ‘Oh here we go. I’ve not won a bloody mercury prize stop tweeting me!’ closely followed by ‘Well this is awkward.’  As his mobile went wild (I bet he regrets turning on those text notifications,) his tweets included ‘I shall return all your letters to the sender. Wrong person.’  His constant tweets seemed to attract more and more attention including @MrGarethBrooks who said ‘Simon from The Inbetweeners is tweeting from @pjharvey‘s account?” Ha! Brilliant.’  This was turning into some comic twitterrhoea!

I don’t think this guy was actually trying to be funny as he stated he couldn’t have made the album as  ‘I was in the kitchen making pancakes at the time. Nom nom.’ and ‘I didn’t even know who she was.’  Well, I guess the digital age brings new ways of learning something new every day.  Hopefully things will quieten down for him from now on!

You can now follow me on Twitter @BeckyBarnesB

xxx

P.S. King Creosote and Jon Hopkins should have won.  I am listening to the album now, it’s beautiful.  I don’t think there would be a Twitter mix up with that name either!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

