dancingwithmissb


September Lust
September 1, 2011, 5:11 pm
Filed under: Lusts

So September is upon us, and as Festival season draws to a close there’s a big transition going on in my life as I try to pack up my bombsite of a bedroom and gather necessities to move from Canterbury to Brighton.  Where my Summer has been somewhat leisurely, finding my feet after my 6 months travelling, I am about to begin an intensive fast-track NCTJ diploma in Journalism, which I am beyond excited about.

As my timetable will be far more jam-packed and won’t allow lots of to-ing and fro-ing between Canters and Brighton there are lots of things going on that I won’t be able to attend.  Some of them I will, and I thought I’d compile some South-East goings on that I’m lusting after, as a start to September’s blogs.  Enjoy!

TONIGHT: Joe Driscoll is playing at Casey’s, Butchery Lane, Canterbury at 8pm.  If you haven’t checked this guy out, you really should – he uses loops and pedals (all that technology that amazes me) to record and layer vocals.  The gig is free as well!

THIS WEEKEND: The brand new Smugglers Festival (between Deal and Canterbury) brings together best-loved local talent with a truly folky feel.  There’s a vid of the site on the webpage and looks like it’s going to have a really cosy and friendly vibe.  If you’re going, be sure to check out Broken Hands, Rae, Amber Room, Lucy KittZoo For You and Cocos Lovers.

As an alternative, Skabour Festival looks good.

NEXT WEEK: For vintage clothing lovers, there’s a new shop opening in Northgate, Canterbury next week on September 6th.  Check out Vintage Warehouse here.  For those in Brighton there’s Brighton’s Affordable Vintage Spectacular takes place on September 11th.

September 6-10th: La Cage Aux Folles –  my favourite musical is on at the Theatre Royal Brighton.

September 10th: Darkwood Manor is a film made by a Brighton student on a £1000 budget with a cameo from Steve Coogan.  It’s playing at the Duke of York’s Picturehouse.  Read the BBC News article here.

THROUGHOUT SEPTEMBER: The Nomad – pop-up cinema is popping up all over the South-East but notably St Augustine’s Abbey in Canterbury for Ghost on September 10th, The Shawshank Redemption on September 23rd and Labyrinth on September 30th.

There’s plenty more coming up over the coming months, including some great gigs by One Inch Badge and at The Farmhouse, Canterbury.  And of course the Marlowe Theatre is re-opening (and looking impressive,) with the Canterbury Festival upcoming in October.  I’ll revisit some of these things in future blogs so watch this space…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] September Lust […]

Pingback by September Lust: Brighton gigs « dancingwithmissb




Leave a Reply

