dancingwithmissb


Amporium Recording Co Night 001 @ The Beer Cart Arms
May 18, 2011, 3:47 pm
Filed under: Gig Reviews

Last night saw the launch of the Amporium Recording Co night at the Beer Cart Arms in Canterbury.

It’s the second time since I got back from travelling that I’ve been to a gig at the Beer Cart.  My friend and I were reminiscing how it was the grotty place to get served when we were 14, so it seems that the place has upped its game! (Gosh, I suppose that’s 10 years ago now!)

Great Ancestors were on first, as hosts of the night.  Setting the tone for the rest of the night, I should have probably paid attention when the event description said the band like to play “big, loud indie songs at ear-splitting volume.”  That they did.  I think it’s definitely time to invest in a pair of earplugs if I want to stand so close to the speakers.

The set drew an enthusiastic crowd who were happy to bop to the well-oiled, energetic tunes.  I was particularly impressed with their drummer who was spot on; GA’s rhythms are creative and varied unlike so many new bands who settle for below-par, basic beats.  Invest in your drummer I say!

GA say that if you like their music, they like you, so check them out for yourself at any of their upcoming gigs – there’s a couple in London in June and July

Next up were The Sans Pareil.  This band made use of the electronic violin which really added an ethereal touch to their fast-paced folky instrumental.  I’m a massive advocate of boy/girl vocals and although some of the live harmonies were a little off,  the harsh, edgy qualities of both singer’s voices defined the London-based band.

The most explosive performance of the night came from Sky:Lark and that’s because they blew up an amp. 

No, not just that, I was really impressed with the crafted instrumental that this band had to offer, just didn’t enjoy so much the shouting as that’s just not my particular taste.  Everyone else loved it (several had, in fact invested in earplugs) and if you like head-banging and hardcore this music is for you!  Even if you’re like me and are a bit of a granny when it comes to screamy vocals, check out their recordings because I find the vocals/instrumental a bit more balanced!

If you’re interested in local live music, there’s a free gig this Friday at Casey’s.  Click here.

That’s it for now!

Miss B x

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

